Coronation Trophy Winner – 1971

4 06 2009

93 drawn for Coronation Trophy, By LARRY NGALA,  June 4 2009

Action in the 18-event Kenya Data Networks Golfer Of The Year series switches to the 54-hole Coronation Trophy at the par 73 Nakuru Golf Club course this weekend.

A field of 93 was drawn for the event which, before past Kenya Golf Union chairmen Mike Harbage and Chris Kahara donated the Kenyatta Memorial Bowl for Kenya Amateur Strokeplay Championship in 1978, used to feature as the national strokeplay championship.

The Coronation and Bendor Trophy started in 1937 and has taken place annually save from 1940 to 1945. Jimmy Kahugu from Sigona was its first African winner in 1970, but he lost the title the following year to the legendary John Mucheru. David Kibisio held the trophy from 1979 to 1981 and has so far been the most successful local player.

Read More at:




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s